Smart Growth Subcabinet​​

​​Public Comment Form​

Meeting Ar​chive


Chuck Boyd​, Director
Planning Services Division
Maryland Department of Planning
301 W. Preston Street, 11th Floor
Baltimore, MD 21201


The Maryland Smart Growth Subcabinet

Established by Governor Parris Glendening, the Smart Growth Subcabinet began as the Smart Growth and Neighborhood Conservation Subcabinet in January 1998 by Executive Order. It was formalized by statute effective July 1, 2001 (Chapter 566, Acts of 2001; Code State Government Article, sec. 9-1406​). The Subcabinet helps implement the state's Smart Growth Policy, making recommended changes in state law, regulations, and procedures to the governor needed to support the policy. The Subcabinet works to create, enhance, support, and revitalize sustainable communities across Maryland.

The Subcabinet is made up of the secretaries of the Maryland Departments of Agriculture, Budget & Management, Commerce, the Environment General Services, Health, Housing & Community Development, Labor, Natural Resources, Transportation, and Higher Education, the director of the Maryland Energy Administration, and the executive director of the National Center for Smart Growth Research & Education at the University of Maryland. ​​​​

Interim Ch​​air 

​The Subcabinet is chaired by Planning Secretary Rebecca L. Flora, AICP. The chair convenes monthly meetings and is responsible for the oversight, direction, and accountability of the work of the subcabinet. The chair's office also provides the primary staff for the subcabinet.​


​Kevin Atticks

Secretary, ​Ma​ryland Department of Agriculture


Helene T. Grady
Secretary, Maryland Department of Budget & Management


Kevin A. Anderson
Secretary, Maryland Department of Commerce


​Serena Mcllwain
Secretary, Maryland Department of the Environment


Atif T. Chaudhry
Secretary, Maryland Department of General Services


​Laura Herrera Scott, M.D.
Secretary, Maryland Department of Health

​Jake Day
Secretary, Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development

Carol Anne Gilbert
Assistant Secretary for Neighborhood Revitalization 
Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development​

​Portia Wu
Secretary, Maryland Department of Labor

Josh Kurtz
Secretary, Maryland Department of Natural Resources 

Paul Wiedefeld
Secretary, Maryland Department of Transportation 


Sanjay Rai
Acting Secretary, Maryland Higher Education Commission ​

Paul G. Pinsky
Director, Maryland Energy Administration


Kathryn Howell, Ph.D.
Executive Director, National Center for Smart Growth Research & Education
University of Maryland, College Park

​ ​

Human Trafficking GET HELP

National Human Trafficking Hotline - 24/7 Confidential

1-888-373-7888 233733 More Information on human trafficking in Maryland

Customer Service Promise

The State of Maryland pledges to provide constituents, businesses, customers, and stakeholders with friendly and courteous, timely and responsive, accurate and consistent, accessible and convenient, and truthful and transparent services.

Take Our Survey

Help Stop Fraud in State Government

The Maryland General Assembly’s Office of Legislative Audits operates a toll-free fraud hotline to receive allegations of fraud and/or abuse of State government resources. Information reported to the hotline in the past has helped to eliminate certain fraudulent activities and protect State resources.

More Information