Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission

​Members of the Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission

The Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission was authorized by the General Assembly on July 1, 2010 (Chapter 489, Acts of 2010​) and sunset as a commission on December 31, 2020.  The members of the commission as December 31, 2020 were as follows: ​​

  • Susan Summers, Chair and Representative of the Agricultural Community
  • Mary Ann Lisanti, Vice Chair, Maryland House of Delegates
  • Melissa Wells, House of Delegates Environment & Transportation Committee
  • Vacancy, Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee
  • J.B. Jennings, Senate Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee
  • Secretary Robert S. McCord, Maryland Department of Planning
  • Devon Dodson, Secretary's designee, Maryland Department of the Environment
  • R. Earl Lewis, Jr., Deputy Secretary at Maryland Department of Transportation
  • Secretary Kenneth C. Holt, Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development
  • Sandi Olek, Secretary's designee, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
  • Roger Venezia, Secretary's designee, Maryland Department of Commerce
  • Secretary Joseph Bartenfelder, Maryland Department of Agriculture
  • Robert Gorrell, Executive Director of the Maryland Public School Construction Program, Superintendent's designee, Maryland State Department of Education
  • Charlotte Lawson Davis, the Rural Maryland Council's designee
  • Gerrit Knaap, Director, University of Maryland National Center for Smart Growth Research and Education
  • Michael O'Connor, Mayor, City of Frederick, MML Representative
  • Leslie (Les) Knapp, Jr., Legal and Policy Counsel, Maryland Association of Counties (MACo), MACo Representative
  • Kevin L. Small, Director, Town of Bel Air Planning, MML Representative
  • Deborah Carpenter, Director, Charles County Department of Planning and Growth Management, MACO Representative
  • Vacancy, Smart Growth Representative
  • Frank Hertsch, Principal, Morris & Ritchie Associates, Residential Building & Development Representative
  • Thomas M. Ballentine Jr., National Association of Industrial and Office Properties, Commercial Building & Development Representative
  • Michael R. Davis, Esq., Attorney, Davis, Agnor, Rapaport & Skalny, LLC, Transportation Representative
  • Vacancy, Western Maryland Representative
  • Greg Bowen, President of Land Stewardship Solutions, Southern Maryland Representative
  • Richard R. Brush, Division Chief of Land Development Division, Montgomery County, Washington Metro Area Representative
  • Bryce Turner, President, Brown, Craig and Turner, Baltimore Metro Area Representative
  • Vacancy, Rural Community Representative
  • Leo Vondas, Principal, Bethesda Properties, LLC, Washington Metro Area Representative
  • Eric E. Soter, Principal, Rodgers Consulting, Inc., Washington Metro Area Representative
  • Vacancy, Eastern Shore Representative
  • Jessica Zuniga, Board member, Maryland Affordable Housing Coalition, Housing Representative
  • James Kruger, President/CEO Retired, James P. Kruger & Associates, Representative of the Baltimore Metropolitan Area
  • Vacancy, Environment Representative

Human Trafficking GET HELP

National Human Trafficking Hotline - 24/7 Confidential

1-888-373-7888 233733 More Information on human trafficking in Maryland

Customer Service Promise

The State of Maryland pledges to provide constituents, businesses, customers, and stakeholders with friendly and courteous, timely and responsive, accurate and consistent, accessible and convenient, and truthful and transparent services.

Take Our Survey

Help Stop Fraud in State Government

The Maryland General Assembly’s Office of Legislative Audits operates a toll-free fraud hotline to receive allegations of fraud and/or abuse of State government resources. Information reported to the hotline in the past has helped to eliminate certain fraudulent activities and protect State resources.

More Information