

MAYOR AND COUNCIL OF SNOW HILL

MAYOR AND COUNCIL OF SNOW HILL RESOLUTION # 2012- 11

WHEREAS, Governor O'Malley on April 18, 2011, issued an Executive Order creating the Task Force on Sustainable Growth and Wastewater Disposal, which consisted of a broad cross–section of representatives from business, agriculture, science, environmental advocacy, and government from throughout Maryland; and

WHEREAS, The Task Force was charged with recommending regulatory, statutory and other actions to address the impact of major developments served by on–site sewage disposal systems, commonly known as septic systems, and their effects on pollution, land preservation, agribusiness, and smart growth; and

WHEREAS, The Task Force reported its findings in December 2011 to the Governor, the Speaker of the House, the President of the Senate, the House Environmental Matters Committee and the Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee; and

WHEREAS, The Sustainable Growth and Agricultural Preservation Act of 2012 (SB236), adopted by the Maryland Legislature in 2012, embodies the nearly unanimous recommendations of the Task Force on planning for growth served by on–site sewage disposal systems and where major subdivisions served by on–site sewage disposal systems and shared facilities can be located; and

WHEREAS, The SB236 requires participating local jurisdictions to adopt Growth Tier Maps indicating those areas served by public sewerage systems, those areas intended to be served by public sewerage systems, and those areas not planned for sewerage service, and

WHEREAS, in consideration of the provisions of the SB236, The Town of Snow Hill has developed a SB236 Growth Tier Map, assigning Growth Tier designations to those lands within the municipal boundary and to those lands within the municipal growth area as shown within the Town of Snow Hill comprehensive plan.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the SB236 Growth Tier Map for the Town of Snow Hill is hereby adopted and is to become effective upon its passage.

Passed this 13 day of November, 2012.

Jenny Hall
Central District Council Person

Gerald Shockley
Western District Council Person

Eric Mullins
Eastern District Council Person

Approved by me this 13 day of November 2012.

ATTEST:

Kelly C. Brewington Town Manager

ohn Charles Dorman, Mayor

