​​​​​​​​Maryland 250 Commission 

December 1, 2023 Press Release​

Michele W. Johnson​

​Maryland 250 Direct​​or​


Maryland 250 Commission Members

  • ​Governor Parris Glendening, Commission Chair
  • Judge Katie O'Malley, Commission Vice Chair
  • Elaine Rice Bachmann, Maryland State Archivist
  • Senator Jack Bailey, District 29, Calvert and St. Mary's Counties
  • Robert Bailey, Historian/Historic Planner, Maryland Park Service, Maryland Dept. of Natural Resources
  • Senator Benjamin Brooks, District 10, Baltimore County
  • Katie Caljean, President and CEO, Maryland Center for History and Culture
  • Alexandra Cenatus, Director of Programs, Maryland Humanities
  • Brenda B. Coakley
  • E. Keith Colston, Administrator, Ethnic Commissions and Commission on Indian Affairs, Governor's Office of Community Initiatives
  • Chanel Compton, Executive Director, Maryland Commission on African American History and Culture
  • Raquel Coombs, Chief of Staff, Maryland Dept. of Management and Budget
  • Judi Emmel, Member, Maryland Commission for Women
  • Liz Fitzsimmons, Managing Director, Maryland Dept. of Commerce Office of Tourism and Film
  • Secretary Rebecca Flora, Maryland Dept. of Planning 
  • Dr. Joni Floyd, Curator, Maryland and Historical Collections, University of Maryland Libraries
  • Terri Lee Freeman, President, Reginald F. Lewis Museum of Maryland African American History and Culture
  • Elizabeth Hughes, Director and State Historic Preservation Officer, Maryland Historical Trust
  • Mayor Takisha James, Town of Bladensburg
  • Steve Kearney, Founding Partner, KO Public Affairs
  • Secretary Susan Lee, Office of the Secretary of State
  • Councilman Pete Lesher, Talbot County Council
  • Assistant Secretary Luis Luna, Maryland Dept. of General Services
  • Lt. Governor Aruna Miller
  • Secretary D. Paul Monteiro, Maryland Dept. of Service and Civic Innovation
  • Peter Phineas Ramsey, Director of Social Studies, Maryland State Dept. of Education
  • Nicholas Redding, President and CEO, Preservation Maryland
  • Steven Skerritt-Davis, Executive Director, Maryland State Arts Council
  • Robin V. Sproul, Executive Vice President, Javelin
  • Reggie Turner, Financial Advisor, RBC Wealth Management
  • Dr. Antonio Ugues, Jr., Associate Professor of Political Science and Director of the Center for the Study of Democracy, St. Mary's College of Maryland
  • Rev. Lawrence E. Walker, Sr., Executive Director, Governor's Office of Community Initiatives
  • Secretary Anthony Woods, Maryland Dept. of Veterans Affairs

Human Trafficking GET HELP

National Human Trafficking Hotline - 24/7 Confidential

1-888-373-7888 233733 More Information on human trafficking in Maryland

Customer Service Promise

The State of Maryland pledges to provide constituents, businesses, customers, and stakeholders with friendly and courteous, timely and responsive, accurate and consistent, accessible and convenient, and truthful and transparent services.

Take Our Survey

Help Stop Fraud in State Government

The Maryland General Assembly’s Office of Legislative Audits operates a toll-free fraud hotline to receive allegations of fraud and/or abuse of State government resources. Information reported to the hotline in the past has helped to eliminate certain fraudulent activities and protect State resources.

More Information