Maryland Planning Commissioners Association

About MPCA

MPCA Governance

MPCA is governed by a board made up of representatives from each county in Maryland and led by elected officers. The board meets quarterly in January, April, July and October, the latter meeting during the fall conference. Officers are nominated at the quarterly meeting prior to the annual fall conference, when the group holds an election.


All board/commission members are automatically MPCA members. Jurisdictional board members are appointed from this membership.

MPCA welcomes new board members from throughout the state. There several openings for county representatives on the board. To become a county representative on the board, contact one of the officers listed below. Anyone serving as county or municipal commissioners or board members is eligible to represent their county. Please check the member listing to find your name. If it is missing or needs correction, please submit the online form.

In addition to board membership, MPCA offers many opportunities to serve Maryland citizen planners, such as annual conference planning, education and nomination committees. Contact any officer or board member to find out how you can participate.

MPCA changed its name in 2007 from the Maryland Citizen Planners Association (MCPA) to better identify its mission of improving knowledge among its members.

Members of the MPCA Board

MPCA Officers

  • Danny Winborne, President (City of Gaithersburg, Montgomery County), Email
  • Bill Butts, Vice President (Town of Mount Airy, Frederick County), Email
  • Roxanne Hemphill, Secretary, (Town of Mount Airy, Frederick County), Email
  • Doug Wright, Treasurer (City of Hagerstown, Washington County), Email


Click here to see the full list of MPCA officers, members and staff >>​ 

Click here to see the list of MPCA past presidents >>