Patuxent River Commission

Commission Members

There are 34 members of the Patuxent River Commission, including representatives from the seven counties in the watershed, a representative of a municipality in the watershed, five state agencies, three regional planning organizations, two soil conservation districts, two farmers, three business and development representatives, four citizens, two academics, one waterman, and representatives from the cooperative extension service, the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, a regional water/wastewater utility, and a federal facility.

  • Councilman Michael Leszcz, Chair, City of Laurel
  • Christopher Perry, Vice-Chair, Citizen/Environment
  • Robert Brown, Sr., Waterman
  • Dr. Martin Chandler, Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission
  • Guy Curley, Developer
  • Steven Darcey, Prince George's Soil Conservation District 
  • Andrew Der, Business Representative
  • Luis Dieguez, Charles Soil Conservation District
  • Brandy Glenn, St. Mary's County
  • Amy Guise, US Army Corps of Engineers*
  • Erica Hahn, Planner, Charles County Department of Planning & Growth Management
  • John Hartline, Executive Director, Tri-County Council for Southern Maryland
  • Dr. Scott Knoche, Academic
  • John McCoy, Citizen/Environment
  • Erik Michelsen, Anne Arundel Administrator, Watershed Protection and Restoration Program
  • Dr. Thomas Miller, Academic
  • Katina Shoulars, MD-National Capital Park & Planning Commission, Prince George’s County
  • Joanna Smith, Prince George's County
  • Dr. Barbara Sollner-Webb, Citizen
  • Sandy Spencer, Federal Facility/Patuxent Research Refuge
  • John Swartz, Environmental Planner, Calvert County Planning & Zoning
  • Mark Symborski, MD-National Capital Park & Planning Commission, Montgomery County
  • Jackie Takacs, University of Maryland Extension
  • Albert Tucker, Farmer
  • Fred Tutman, Farmer & Patuxent Riverkeeper
  • Lisa White, Citizen/Environment
  • Sec. Joseph Bartenfelder, Maryland Department of Agriculture
    (represented by Byron Petrauskas, Agriculture)*
  • Sec. Benjamin H. Grumbles, Maryland Department of the Environment
    (represented by Matthew Rowe, Environment)*
  • Sec. Jeannie Haddaway-Riccio, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
    (represented by Alison Armocida Santoro, Natural Resources)*
  • Sec. Robert S. McCord, Maryland Department of Planning
    (represented by Jason Dubow, Planning)*
  • Sec. Pete K. Rahn, Maryland Department of Transportation
    (represented by Sandy Hertz, Transportation) *

Current Commission Vacancies

  • Howard County
  • Montgomery County
  • Developer

Commission Staff

Daniel Rosen, Maryland Department of Planning
Deborah Herr Cornwell, Maryland Department of Planning
Jason Dubow, Maryland Department of Planning

* Designee for Ex-Officio Member