

Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission Meeting

November 18, 2019 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Maryland State Offices in Crownsville 100 Community Place, First Floor Conference Room - Side A Crownsville, MD 21032

Meeting Summary

Members Present:

Susan Summers, Mary Ann Lisanti, Robert McCord, Richard Brush, Deborah Carpenter, Diane Chasse, Michael Davis, Marty Baker representing Charles Glass, Frank Hertsch, Gerrit Knaap, Les Knapp, Jim Kruger, Sasha Land representing Sandi Olek, Kevin Small, Roger Venezia, Jessica Zuniga

Elected Officials:

None

Attendees:

Sandy Schrader, Catherine Mateer, Adam Gruzs, Justin Fiore, Chris Hoagland

MDP Staff:

Chuck Boyd, Joe Griffiths, Jason Dubow

The following agenda items were discussed:

Agenda

- I. Welcome and Opening Remarks Susan Summers, Chair
- II. Administrative Matters and Updates
 - Growth Commission's 2020 Sustainable Growth Award Endorsement (To be distributed at the meeting)
 - 2020 Growth Commission Meeting Proposed Schedule
- III. Nuisance Flood Plan Development Guidance Sasha Land, DNR
 - Comments & Questions
- IV. Saltwater Intrusion Plan Jason Dubow, MDP
 - Comments & Questions
- V. The Greenhouse Gas Emissions Reduction Act: 2019 GGRA Draft Plan *Chris Hoagland, MDE*Comments & Questions
- VI. Workgroup Updates
 - APFO Workgroup
 - Education Workgroup
 - Rural Economies Workgroup
- VII. Public Comments

Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission November 18, 2019 Summary Meeting Notes Page 2

Formal actions taken at the meeting.

By the close of the Growth Award nomination period in September, a total of 15 nominations were received in the Leadership & Service, Sustainable Communities and Preservation/ Conservation categories. The Selection Committee (consisting of Rick Brush, Devon Dodson, Charlotte Lawson-Davis, Jim Kruger, and Bryce Turner) had one conference call meeting to discuss the nominations and develop a slate of Growth Award candidates for recommendation to the full Growth Commission. The following table lists the recommended 2020Growth Award Candidates.

Chuck Boyd reported that the Growth Awards Selection Committee consisting of Rick Brush, Devon Dodson, Charlotte Lawson-Davis, Jim Kruger, and Bryce Turner reviewed a total of 15 nominations. One conference call meeting was conducted to review, rank and recommend a total of six Growth Awardees. The Commission **voted unanimously to endorse** the Selection Committee's recommendations for the following 2020 Sustainable Growth Award recipients:

Leadership and Service
Jacquelyn Cornish
Regina Hammond
Sustainable Communities
Town of Betterton
Metro Heights at Mondawmin
Sudlersville Community Laundromat
Preservation / Conservation
Mallows Bay - Potomac River National Marine Sanctuary

The next Growth Commission meeting is scheduled for: January 27, 2020 1:00 - 4:00 PM, 100 Community Place, 1st Floor Conference Room, Crownsville, MD 21032