

Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission Meeting

November 26, 2018 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Gaithersburg City Hall Gallery 31 S. Summit Avenue, Gaithersburg, MD 20877

Meeting Summary

Members Present:

Susan Summers, Wendi Peters, Tom Ballentine, Greg Bowen, Richard Brush, Deborah Carpenter, Charlotte Lawson Davis, Michael Davis, Devon Dodson, Charles Glass, Frank Hertsch, James Kruger, Sandi Olek, Roger Venezia representing Steve Pennington, Bryce Turner, Leo Vondas, Jessica Zuniga

Elected Officials:

State Senator Cheryl Kagan, State Delegate Jim Gilchrist, Gaithersburg City Council Vice President Ryan Spiegel and Councilman Neil Harris, Montgomery County Council Member Sidney Katz,

Attendees:

Catherine Mateer, Trudy Schwarz, Rob Robinson, Casey Anderson, Robert Kronenberg, Tanya Stern, Greg Busch, Justin Fiore, Laurie-Anne Sayles, John Rumble, Gwen Wright, Carrie McCarthy, Molline Jackson, Duane Felix,

MDP Staff:

Pat Keller, Chuck Boyd, Joe Griffiths

The following agenda items were discussed:

Agenda

- I. Welcome and Opening Remarks
 - Susan Summers, Growth Commission Chair
 - Gaithersburg City Council Vice President Ryan Spiegel
 - Montgomery County Council Member Sidney Katz
- II. Overview of the City of Gaithersburg and Montgomery County
 - Rob Robinson, Long Range Planning Manager, Gaithersburg
 - Casey Anderson, Chair, Montgomery County Planning Board
- III. Administrative Matters and Updates
 - Growth Commission's 2019 Sustainable Growth Award Endorsement
 - 2019 Growth Commission Meeting Schedule
- IV. Phase III Chesapeake Bay Watershed Implementation Plan (WIP) Greg Busch, MDE
 - Presentation on the Maryland's Phase Ill WIP process
 - Comments & Questions
- V. Task Force on Rural Internet, Broadband, Wireless and Cellular Service *Charlotte Davis, Rural Maryland Council*
 - Presentation on the Task Force on Rural Internet Broadband Recommendations
 - Comments & Questions

Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission November 26, 2018 Summary Meeting Notes Page 2

- VI. A Better Maryland Update Joe Griffiths/Chuck Boyd, MDP
 - Update on Issues and Strategies Development
 - Update on 2nd Round of A Better Maryland Regional Meetings
 - Comments & Questions
- VII. Workgroup Updates
 - APFO Workgroup
 - Education Workgroup
 - Rural Economies Workgroup
- VIII. Public Comments

Formal actions taken at the meeting.

Greg Bowen reported that the Growth Awards Selection Committee consisting of Charlotte Lawson-Davis, Jim Kruger, Eric Soter, Greg Bowen, and Bryce Turner) reviewed a total of 10 nominations. One conference call meeting was conducted to review, rank and recommend a total of five Growth Awardees. A motion was made by Greg Bowen and seconded by Charlotte Lawson Davis to endorse the Selection Committee's recommendations for the following 2019 Sustainable Growth Award recipients:

Leadership and Service
Chris Ryer, Baltimore City Southeast CDC
Thomas J. Stosur, former Baltimore City Planning Director
Sustainable Communities
Bel Air Armory Marketplace
Front and Center: A 5-Year Equity Plan for Central Baltimore
New Shiloh Village Apartments

Motion passed unanimously.

The next Growth Commission meeting is scheduled for January 28, 2019 from 1:00 - 4:00 PM at 100 Community Place, 1st Floor Conference Room, Crownsville, MD 21032.