Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission

Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission Meeting

July 23, 2018 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Baltimore County Center for Maryland Agriculture and Farm Park 1114 Shawan Road, Cockeysville, Maryland 21030

Meeting Summary

Members Present:

Susan Summers, Stephen Lafferty, Mary Ann Lisanti, Wendi Peters, Robert McCord, Deborah Carpenter, Michael Davis, Devon Dodson, Frank Hertsch, Christine Conn, Kevin Small, Bryce Turner, Leo Vondas, Jessica Zuniga

Elected Officials:

None

Attendees:

Catherin Mateer, Jeff Mayhew, Joel Gallihue

MDP Staff:

Pat Keller, Chuck Boyd, Michael Bayer, Joe Griffiths, Nell Ziehl

The following agenda items were discussed:

Agenda

- I. Welcome and Opening Remarks
 - Susan Summers, Growth Commission Chair
- II. Overview of the Baltimore County
 - Jeff Mayhew, Deputy Director, Baltimore County Department of Planning
- III. Administrative Matters and Updates
 - Report on Sixth Annual Sustainable Growth Awards Ceremony on June 4
 - Announcement of 2019 Sustainable Growth Award Nominations
- IV. Statewide Preservation Plan 2019-2023 Nell Ziehl, MDP
 - Presentation on Preservation Plan Effort to date
 - Comments & Questions
- V. A Better Maryland Update Joe Griffiths/Chuck Boyd, MDP
 - Update on Listening Sessions & State Agency Plan and Data Responses
 - Discussion on Priority Issues to be included in A Better Maryland
 - Next Steps
- VI. Workgroup Updates
 - o Education Workgroup
 - Reinvest Maryland Workgroup
 - o Rural Economies Workgroup

Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission July 23, 2018 Summary Meeting Notes Page 2

VII. Public Comments

No formal actions or votes were taken at the meeting.

The next Growth Commission meeting is scheduled for September 24, 2018 from 1:00 - 4:00 PM at the Leonardtown Town Hall, 22670 Washington Street, Leonardtown, MD 20650