

Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission Meeting

November 13, 2017 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Roger Carter Community Center, Oella Room 3000 Milltowne Drive, Ellicott City, MD 21043

Meeting Summary

Members Present:

Susan Summers, Stephen Lafferty, Mary Ann Lisanti, Wendi Peters, Greg Bowen, Richard Brush, Deborah Carpenter, Charlotte Lawson Davis, Michael Davis, Arabia Davis representing Robert Gorrell, Marty Baker representing Charles Glass, Frank Hertsch, Uri Avin representing Gerrit Knapp, James Kruger, Sandi Olek, Roger Venezia representing Steve Pennington, Eric Soter, Leo Vondas, Jessica Zuniga

Elected Officials:

None

Attendees:

Phil Nichols, Jim Caldwell, Peter Conrad, Kim Rennie

MDP Staff:

Chuck Boyd, Michael Bayer, Joe Griffiths, Nell Ziehl

The following agenda items were discussed:

Agenda

- I. Welcome and Opening Remarks from
 - Phil Nichols, Howard County Assistant Chief Administrative Officer
- II. Overview of Howard County and the Ellicott City Flood Recovery
 - Jim Caldwell, Director, Howard County Office of Community Sustainability
 - Peter Conrad, Deputy Director, Howard County Department of Planning & Zoning
- III. Growth Commissioner "Getting to Know You" Rick Brush
- IV. Administrative Matters and Updates
 - Growth Commission's 2018 Sustainable Growth Award Endorsement
 - 2018 Growth Commission Meeting Schedule
- V. Update on State Development Plan Outreach Effort Special Secretary of Smart Growth, Wendi Peters
- VI. Workgroup Updates
 - APFO Workgroup
 - Education Workgroup
 - Reinvest Maryland Workgroup
 - Rural Economies Workgroup
- VII. Public Comments

Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission November 13, 2017 Summary Meeting Notes Page 2

Formal actions taken at the meeting.

Chuck Boyd reported that the Growth Awards Selection Committee consisting of Charlotte Lawson-Davis, Jim Kruger, Eric Soter, Greg Bowen, Devon Dodson and Bryce Turner) reviewed a total of 10 nominations. One conference call meeting was conducted to review, rank and recommend a total of six Growth Awardees. A motion was made by Greg Bowen and seconded by Charlotte Lawson Davis to endorse the Selection Committee's recommendations for the following 2018 Sustainable Growth Award recipients:

Leadership and Service
Brian Jones, Mayor of Rock Hall
Sustainable Communities
Anacostia River Trail – Kenilworth Aquatic Gardens
City of Havre de Grace Opera House Renovation
R House
Stavros Niarchos Foundation Parkway Theatre
Preservation/Conservation Projects
Eco-City Farms

Motion passed unanimously.

The next Growth Commission meeting is scheduled for January 22, 2018 from 1:00 - 4:00 PM at 100 Community Place, 1st Floor Conference Room, Crownsville, MD 21032