

Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission Meeting

May 22, 2017 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Delaplaine Visual Arts Education Center 40 S Carroll Street, Frederick, MD 21701

Meeting Summary

Members Present:

Susan Summers, Stephen Lafferty, Wendi Peters, David Caporale, Deborah Carpenter, Charlotte Lawson Davis, Michael Davis, Marty Baker representing Charles Glass, Mary Kendall representing Ken Holt, Gerrit Knapp, James Kruger, Randy McClement, Sandi Olek, Tamar Osterman representing Steve Pennington, Kevin Small, Eric Soter, Leo Vondas, Jessica Zuniga

Elected Officials:

Frederick County Executive Jan Garner, Frederick City Mayor Randy McClement

Attendees:

Joe Adkins, Jim Gugel

MDP Staff:

Chuck Boyd, Michael Bayer, Joe Griffiths and Lee Sobel

The following agenda items were discussed:

Agenda

- I. Welcome and Opening Remarks Jan Gardner, Frederick County Executive, and Randy McClement, Frederick City Mayor
- II. Overview of the City of Frederick
 - Joe Adkins, Deputy Director for Planning, City of Frederick
- III. Overview of Frederick County
 - Jim Gugel, Planning Director, Frederick County Division of Planning & Permitting
- IV. Growth Commissioner "Getting to Know You" *Randy McClement*
- V. Administrative Matters and Updates
 - Update on Growth Commission's 2017 Sustainable Growth Award Ceremony
- VI. Reinvest Maryland Report Recommendations on "Deploy Targeted Financial Tools" Jessica Zuniga/Michael Bayer

(Please review the Commission comments made at the March 20, 2017 meeting regarding "Deploy Targeted Financial Tools")

Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission May 22, 2017 Summary Meeting Notes Page 2

VII. Workgroup Updates

- o Reinvest Maryland Workgroup
- o Rural Economies Workgroup
- o Education Workgroup

VIII. Public Comments

No formal actions or votes were taken at the meeting.

The next Growth Commission meeting is scheduled for July 24, 2017 from 1:00 - 4:00 PM in Princess Anne Fire Department, 11794 Somerset Ave, Princess Anne, MD 21853