Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission Meeting Endorsement of 2014 awards nominations (via conference call)

November 1, 2013/9:00 a.m.

Olmsted Conference Room Maryland Department of Planning 301 W. Preston Street, 11th floor Baltimore, Maryland

Meeting Summary

Participants: Jon Laria, Mary Ann Lisanti, Greg Bowen, Jenny B. King (MDP), Jeff Fretwell

(MDE), Marty Baker (MDOT), Carol Gilbert (DHCD), Charlotte Lawson-Davis,

Gerrit Knaap, Cheryl Cort, Dru Schmidt-Perkins, Tony Prochaska (DNR),

Heather Gramm (DBED), Rama Dilip (MDA), David Lever, Frank Hertsch, Kelly

Cartales, Derick Berlage and Bryce Turner

MDP Staff: Chuck Boyd and Arabia Davis

Welcome and Opening Remarks

The Chair, Jon Laria, began the meeting by welcoming and thanking the members/designees that were able to join the conference call to endorse the Selection Committees 2014 Awards recommendations. He thanked staff for managing and organizing the review process in a timely and efficient manner. He also thanked the Selection Committee members for their hard work and commitment to ensure that the best of the best submissions were selected for the Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission's consideration.

Mr. Laria mentioned that the number of nominations received for this round of Awards far surpassed the number of nominations that were received last year. In total, 29 nominations were received and reviewed by the Selection Committee, which was comprised of Greg Bowen, Karl Brendle, Charlotte Lawson-Davis, Dru Schmidt-Perkins, Bryce Turner and Jon Laria.

Both Mr. Laria and Mr. Greg Bowen, chair of the Committee stated that they were very pleased with the number of good submissions. Mr. Bowen asked whether the meeting participants had any questions or concerns with any of the nominations that were presented (see below for the Selection Committees recommendations).

Leadership and Service Awards:

- ♣ Mr. Fred Lazarus
- Ms. Ellen Ianes
- Southern Maryland Agricultural Development Commission (SMADC)

Sustainable Communities Awards were:

- ♣ Arts and Entertainment (A&E) Districts Program
- **♣** Master Plan for the Development of Gibbons Commons

Preservation/Conservation Award

- ♣ Frostburg Grows
- **★** Kent County Farmland Preservation Program
- Maryland Costal Bays Program

Noting that no one had any questions or concerns, Mr. Laria asked for a motion. Ms. Dru Schmidt-Perkins moved that the Commission endorse the Committee's recommendations. Ms. Charlotte Lawson-Davis seconded that motioned. All were in favor with no opposition. Mr. Laria advised that, per the Bylaws, the Commission would be asked to ratify the outcome of the telephone meeting at its November meeting.

In closing, Mr. Laria reminded the Commissioners that the 2014 Sustainable Growth Commission Forum and Awards Program is scheduled to begin at 3 pm on February 5, 2014 and that the Keynote Speaker is Mr. Mitchell Silver, the immediate past president of the American Planning Association (APA.) Mr. Silver is also widely recognized for his leadership in the planning profession and his contributions to contemporary planning issues.

The meeting concluded at 9:17 a.m.