Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission Meeting



November 14, 2016 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Chestertown Town Hall 2nd Fl., 118 North Cross Street Chestertown, MD 21620

Meeting Summary

Members Present:

Susan Summers, Wendi Peters, Tom Ballentine, Richard R. Brush, David Caporale, Deborah Carpenter, Michael Davis, Devon Dodson, Marty Baker representing Charles Glass, Frank Hertsch, John Papagni representing Ken Holt, Kim Fisher representing Gerrit Knapp, James Kruger, Sandi Olek, Tammy Edwards representing Steve Pennington, Lee Sobel, Eric Soter, Leo Vondas, Jessica Zuniga

Elected Officials:

Mayor Chris Cerino

Attendees:

Kay MacIntosh, Amy Moredock, Susan Gray, John Fiastro, Sondra McLemore, Kelly Collins Choi, Jim Klein, Candace Donoho

MDP Staff:

Chuck Boyd, David Dahlstrom

The following agenda items were discussed:

Agenda

- I. Welcome and Opening Remarks Town of Chestertown Mayor Chris Cerino & Kent County Officials.
- II. Overview of the Town of Chestertown
 - Kay MacIntosh, Economic Development and Marketing Coordinator, Town of Chestertown
- III. Overview of Kent County
 - Amy Moredock, Director, Kent County Department of Planning, Housing, and Zoning
- IV. Growth Commissioner "Getting to Know You" *Jessica Zuniga*
- V. Administrative Matters and Updates
 - 2017 Sustainable Growth Awards Selection Committee Recommendations
 - 2017 Growth Commission Calendar of Meetings
- VI. Impact of Siting Renewable Energy Facilities –
 Susan Gray of DNR; John Fiastro of MEA, Amy Moredock of Kent County

Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission November 14, 2016 Summary Meeting Notes Page 2

- VII. Rock Hall Working Waterfronts Project Kelly Collins, DNR, Coastal Resources Planner, Chesapeake & Coastal Service and Jim Klein, ASLA Principal, Larder/Klein Landscape Architects
- VIII. Reinvest Maryland Report Recommendations on "Identify and Address Regulations and Policies that May Impede Reinvestment" *Jessica Zuniga/Chuck Boyd*
 - IX. Partnership for Action Learning in Sustainability (PALS) Program *Kimberly M. Fisher*
 - X. Workgroup Updates
 - o Rural Economies Workgroup
 - APFO Workgroup
 - o Education Workgroup
 - XI. Public Comments

Formal actions taken at the meeting.

Chuck Boyd reported that the Growth Awards Selection Committee consisting of Charlotte Lawson-Davis, Jim Kruger, Eric Soter, Greg Bowen, Devon Dodson and Bryce Turner) reviewed a total of 16 nominations. One conference call meeting was conducted to review, rank and recommend a total of six Growth Awardees. A motion was made by Jessica Zuniga and seconded by Rick Brush to endorse the Selection Committee's recommendation for the following 2017 Sustainable Growth Award recipients:

Leadership and Service
Uri Avin
Sustainable Communities
Envision Salisbury
Town of Grantsville and the Grantsville Revitalization Organization
Open Works
Ten Light Street
Preservation/Conservation Projects
Historic Sotterley, Inc. Farm Program

Motion passed unanimously.

The next Growth Commission meeting is scheduled for January 23, 2017 from 1:00 - 4:00 PM in Maryland Historical Trust, First Floor Conference Room, 100 Community Place, Crownsville, MD 21032