Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission

Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission Meeting

September 26, 2016 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Havre de Grace Decoy Museum 215 Giles Street Havre de Grace, MD 21078

Meeting Summary

Members Present:

Susan Summers, Stephen Lafferty, Mary Ann Lisanti, Wendi Peters, Greg Bowen, Richard R. Brush, Deborah Carpenter, Charlotte Lawson Davis, Jeffrey Felker, Marty Baker representing Charles Glass, Frank Hertsch, James Kruger, Arabia Davis representing MSDE, Randy McClement, Sandi Olek, Roger Venezia representing Steve Pennington, Kevin L. Small, Eric Soter, Leo Vondas

Elected Officials:

Harford County Council President Richard Slutzky, Havre de Grace Councilwomen Monica Worrell,

Attendees:

Patrick Sypolt, Bradley Killian, Jenny King, Tim Whittie, Brigitte Carty, Shawn Davis, Sam Kahl, Adam Hiob,

MDP Staff:

Chuck Boyd, Richard Hughes, David Dahlstrom

The following agenda items were discussed:

Agenda

- I. Welcome and Opening Remarks City of Havre de Grace Patrick Sypolt, Director of Administration, followed by a virtual welcome and overview of the City by Mayor Bill Martin.
- II. Overview of the City of Havre de Grace
 - Dianne Klair, Havre de Grace Planning & Zoning Department
- III. Overview of Harford County
 - Bradley F. Killian, Harford County Planning & Zoning Director
- IV. Administrative Matters and Updates
 - Report on 2016 Sustainable Growth Awards Event
 - Scheduling 2017 Sustainable Growth Awards Selection Committee Review
- V. Maryland's Heritage Area Program *Richard Hughes, Maryland Historic Trust*
- VI. Lower Susquehanna Heritage Greenway Delegate Mary Ann Lisanti

Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission September 26, 2016 Summary Meeting Notes Page 2

VII. Workgroup Updates

- o Reinvest Maryland Workgroup
- o Rural Economies Workgroup
- o APFO Workgroup
- o Education Workgroup

VIII. Public Comments

No formal actions or votes were taken at the meeting.

The next Growth Commission meeting is scheduled for November 14, 2016 from 1:00 - 4:00 PM in Kent County at Chestertown Town Hall, 2nd Fl., 118 North Cross Street, Chestertown, MD 21620